🙅 The Software Developer Strikes

Tom Smykowski
4 min readMar 11, 2023

I wondered, how it would be, if a remote software engineer would decide to strike if worked in a modern, high culture company. The following discussion could take place:

Developer (on a daily): I won’t be available tomorrow because I’m striking

PM: Oh, ok. So you are taking a day off?

Developer: Uhm.. I don’t know if I supposed to…

PM: I understand. So you’d like to have a paid day off?

Developer: I don’t know, I never did it before…

PM: It’s OK. I will check our policies regarding striking and get back to you ok? Can you also check with your striking manager to see how it looks like from his side?

Developer: Sure. I will let you know

PM: Do you need any travel budget or accommodation?

Developer: I’ve already booked everything. No worries.

PM: Cool. But you will be able to join tomorrow’s daily?

Developer: I don’t know if I supposed to…

PM: It’s OK. Just please update your JIRA today. We will continue after the strike. What you will be striking for?

Developer: It’s a strike for better work quality for developers

--

--

Tom Smykowski

Software Engineer & Tech Editor. Top 2% on StackOverflow, 3mil views on Quora. Won Shattered Pixel Dungeon.