💎 Ruby 3.2.0 Is From Another Dimension

I don’t know what you were doing on 25th of December 2022. I was eating pierogis, while Ruby team did some epic sh***!

Tom Smykowski
4 min readJan 4, 2023

Update: The article was read by 12 000 Ruby enthusiasts. I am overwhelmed and humbled by the number of over 200 claps and the positive response expressed in the comments. I am glad to add value to your communities. You can expect more articles about Ruby soon! Cheers!

On that very day Yui Naruse announced the release of a groundbreaking Ruby version. You know I am reporting what’s new in programming languages for a while now. I didn’t see that coming especially on the festive season. I almost chocked on my bigos!

You Can Now Run Ruby In Your Browser

Let’s start slow. WebAssembly and WASI are with us for a while now. There are some attempts to run various programming languages in the browser and on serverless environments supporting WASI.

But Ruby made it early to the party and is in an exquisite company of C#, Rust, Go and Swift. It is impressive, Ruby team proves to be able to provide all the stuff kids love these days.

41% Faster Code Execution

--

--

Tom Smykowski

Software Engineer & Tech Editor. Top 2% on StackOverflow, 3mil views on Quora. Won Shattered Pixel Dungeon.