🖱️ Logitech CEO Considers A Mouse In Subscription Model

Tom Smykowski
3 min readAug 3, 2024

Clicking cards coming soon to your nearest gas station

There are few things that can surprise me, so when Tony shared a hypothetical page of a mouse you have to pay monthly I thought it can’t be right.

There would be two tiers with various numbers of clicks per month. Actually one with a limit and premium version for unlimited clicks for 18 dollars per month.

It is quite funny and I love one comment that asks what if the number of clicks was exhausted. How to click to choose the offer.

He also linked to an interview with Logitech CEO noticing it may be the future.

Allegedly, according to the article, Hanneke Faber imagines a new type of mouse, forever mouse. Such mouse would be built with finest materials found on the Blue Marble. It would be so fine, it would never break. But things cost, and maybe a subscription would be needed to lower the entry level for people dreaming of such mouse.

I had to read it carefully twice, because I couldn’t believe what I’ve read.

Ok. So having a mouse that doesn’t break is tempting. I’d pay for it because I love sustainable stuff that doesn’t end as garbage.

--

--

Tom Smykowski

Software Engineer & Tech Editor. Top 2% on StackOverflow, 3mil views on Quora. Won Shattered Pixel Dungeon.