How AI Changed My Work As A Programmer

Tom Smykowski
6 min read1 day ago

No doubt AI, even if it’s weak, is quite useful. Contrary to popular belief I, and majority of software engineers, don’t think it will replace us. It’s not a opinion of tech rejector.

I’m pretty much using AI as much as I can. I have learned about how AI operates in daily tasks and have some views for the future.

The major one is that we’ll never entirely replace human and there’ll be always a need for someone between human and tech or even human and AI.

My profession, coding will change however, and in this article I’ll share with you how AI changed how I work.

1. I don’t use the Internet anymore

I used to use search engines and websites to find answers to questions, tutorials, videos.

I don’t have to tell how search results and websites, videos degraded in latest years.

To find an answer to a simple question it takes so much time.

I blame search engines and video platforms that reward lengthy pages and videos.

Today I rarely visit websites. One chatbot replaces all of this. I get an answer right away without all the garbage. It became way faster than searching stuff.

For me it’s great because I’m even more productive than ever. For the web it means basically bye bye.

I think that knowledge pages and videos, educational materials will suffer greatly by introduction of…

--

--

Tom Smykowski

Software Engineer & Tech Editor. Top 2% on StackOverflow, 3mil views on Quora. Won Shattered Pixel Dungeon.