25 Awesome Open Source, End User Apps Ep. 2

Open Source projects are the driving factor of the modern software engineering. Today you’ll learn about 25 end user open source apps, you can find to fit your needs!

Tom Smykowski
8 min readSep 1, 2023

Hi 👋 My name is Tom Smykowski, I’m a software engineer, I’m writing about software engineering, open source and releases of new versions of programming languages, libraries and frameworks!

My goal is to promote great initiatives in the software engineering space that don’t have big money behind them. Subscribe or become a member to financially support the initiative for $5 per month!

Over the last year I’ve reviewed around 235 open source projects in various programming languages: Python, Rust, JavaScript, and many more. Some of the articles with these reviews are already published, while others will be published in the following months, regularly every week on Tuesday.

In May, I’ve combined 25 awesome open source projects from the first batch of 130 open source projects I’ve reviewed. Today it’s time to make another mega-list.

Today, I’d like to interest you in next, 25 awesome open source, end user projects. You can install it, and use it almost out of the box!

⚠️ Before using software, check if it’s safe ️️

1. Portmaster (Go) — Privacy Protector

--

--

Tom Smykowski

Software Engineer & Tech Editor. Top 2% on StackOverflow, 3mil views on Quora. Won Shattered Pixel Dungeon.